The Baham museum
Permanent exhibition
Country and history
Secret societies and religion
Costumes and textile art
Musical instruments
Receptacles and other containers
Kings and dignitaries
The artists
The figures of justice
Maternity, fertility and war
Architecture
Itineraries of the collective memory
Information

Secret societies and religion

In Baham, the social and political organisation is based on the distribution of titles organised into a hierarchy and on the so-called secret societies (only some are really secret) which represent: the religious, political, economic, military, judicial and cultural structures controlling social life and limiting where necessary any abuse of power by the king feu; the skeleton of the whole social structure; the court that allowed individuals to express themselves and play a part in the affairs of the kingdom; etc.

These associations certainly do not hide their existence, their ritual material or their emblems etc. but for the most powerful, what is really done there, namely the practices and rites, the meanings of the symbols, in a word, their essence, remains prohibited for the outsider. There is a wide variety of mkem (on taking power a king can create one or several) and each one can have its masks, its dances, its symbols and its specific material that distinguishes it from the others.
 
    The kou’gaing society in action


The kom manu’ society parading with a young successor

They can be classified according to their functions (political, military, esoteric, religious, judicial etc.), the periods of their foundation, their meeting places (the mkem of the royal residence as opposed to those of the quarters or of the powerful lineages), the social stratification ( mkem of princes or of the members with royal blood, mkem of retainers or the notable commoners). Masks, receptacles, costumes, seats, different elements of material culture are used by the mkem both as ritual material in their activities and as emblems and symbols indicating their ranks, legitimising the power and authority of the individual or collective holder. In the kingdoms on the Bamiléké plateau as here in Baham, power was in the shadow of secret and surrounded by mystery and the sacred, hence the somewhat terrifying, disturbing and religious aspects of the powerful secret societies.

 
    An initiation ceremony

This is materialised by the masks, receptacles, costumes, statues, adornments and other plastic productions both regarding the forms and the dramatic and spectacular setting, their vision having to cause intense emotion and making a deep impression during the rituals. The objects held in greatest awe when they are sacred are those associated with the (kaing), simultaneously transcendence, strength, dynamism, magic, rites of initiation and of fertility.


The nye society on the market place

The Baham believe in the supreme being Si, whilst worshipping several divinities, apart from Christianity which has been expanding since the first half of the 20 th century. The Baham fear the action of the dead, in particular of the ancestors over the living. Ancestor worship is the foundation of autochthonous religion. As the political and social organisation rest on religious conceptions closely linked with the territory, these ancestors, in particular royalty, represent a sort of lobby who in the beyond can intercede in community life. Their worship is periodic and uses various ritual materials: masks, statues, receptacles, musical instruments, costumes etc. In Baham, there are sanctuaries for the family, the quarter, the lineage and the kingdom. The most important of the ten or so main sanctuaries is Fovu’.


The hweneka’ society in action

The beliefs of the Baham linked to divining, cursing ndo, witchcraft, magic, protection and purification of the kingdom in occult ways, give rise to rites, dances and different ceremonies of the secret societies using specific material, sculpted, painted, woven and embroidered figures. The most spectacular appearance of these productions takes place during funeral ceremonies, the enthronement of kings and notables, the biannual rites of kaing (rites relative to initiations, to cults of fertility, the evocation and use of occult forces for the well-being of the group). One of the main reasons that explains the close relationship between art and religion is that graphic or plastic expression restores to language the dimension of what cannot be expressed. The difficulty of perceiving the invisible world, the problem of showing the aspects of supernatural powers whilst concealing those that are reserve for the initiated, require recourse to symbols.

     
     
     
     

Crest mask (thwe msouop)

     
     
     
     
 
     

Cimier de danse

[ Top page ]

Home The four museums The project Baham museum Bandjoun museum Mankon museum Babungo museum
baham@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by SYNUS

Le musée de Baham
Exposition permanente
Pays et histoire
Sociétés secrètes et religion
Costumes et art textile
Instruments de musique
Récipients et autres contenants
Rois et dignitaires
Les artistes
Les figures de justice
Maternité, fécondité et guerre
Architecture
Itinéraires de la memoire collective
Informations

Sociétés secrètes et religion

A Baham, l’organisation sociale et politique est fondée sur la répartition des titres hiérarchisés et sur les sociétés dites secrètes (seules quelques-unes sont authentiquement secrètes) qui constituent : les rouages religieux, politiques, économiques, militaires, judiciaires et culturels contrôlant la vie sociale et limitant au besoin les éventuels abus du pouvoir du roi feu; l’ossature de tout l’édifice sociale; la tribune qui permet aux individus de s’exprimer et d’être partie prenante des affaires du royaume; etc.

Certes, ces associations ne dissimulent pas leur existence, leur matériel rituel, leurs emblèmes, etc., mais pour les plus puissantes ce qui s’y fait réellement, à savoir les pratiques et les rites, les significations des symboles, en un mot, l’essentiel, reste interdit au profane. Les mkem sont d’une grande variété (à l’accession au pouvoir un roi peut en créer une ou plusieurs) et chacune peut avoir ses masques, ses danses, ses symboles et son matériel spécifique qui la distingue des autres.

 
    La société kou’gaing en action


La société kom manu’ en parade avec un jeune successeur

On peut les classer selon leurs fonctions (politiques, militaires, ésotériques, religieuses, économiques, judiciaires, etc.), les périodes de leur fondation, leurs lieux de réunion (les mkem de la résidence royale s’opposent à celles des quartiers ou des puissants lignages), la stratification sociale (mkem des princes ou des membres du sang royal, mkem des serviteurs ou notables roturiers). Masques, contenants, parures, costumes, sièges, bref divers éléments de la culture matérielle sont utilisés par les mkem soit comme matériel rituel lors de leurs activités, soit comme des emblèmes et symboles indiquant le rang de chacun, légitimant le pouvoir et l’autorité du détenteur individuel ou collectif.Dans les royaumes du plateau bamiléké comme ici à Baham, le pouvoir a été à l’ombre du secret et entouré de mystère et de sacré, d’où l’aspect quelque peu terrifiant, inquiétant et religieux qu’entretiennent les puissantes sociétés secrètes.Ceci est matérialisé par des masques, des récipients, des costumes, des statues, des parures et d’autres productions plastiques tant au niveau des formes qu’au niveau de la mise en place dramatique et spectaculaire, leur vision devant provoquer une intense émotion et frapper les imaginations lors des rites.

 
    Une cérémonie d’initiation

Ceci est matérialisé par des masques, des récipients, des costumes, des statues, des parures et d’autres productions plastiques tant au niveau des formes qu’au niveau de la mise en place dramatique et spectaculaire, leur vision devant provoquer une intense émotion et frapper les imaginations lors des rites. Les objets les plus craints lorsqu’ils sont sacralisés sont ceux associés au kè (kaing), à la fois la transcendance, la force, le dynamisme, la magie, les rites d’initiation, de fécondité et de fertilité.


La société nye sur la place du marché

Les Baham croient à l’être suprême Si, tout en rendant un culte à de nombreuses divinités, en dehors du christianisme en plein essor depuis la première moitié du XXe siècle. Le Baham redoute l’action des morts, en particulier des ancêtres sur les vivants. Le culte des ancêtres est la base de la religion autochtone. L’organisation politique et sociale reposant sur des conceptions religieuses intimement liées au terroir, ces ancêtres en particulier royaux constituent une sorte de lobby qui de l’au-delà intervient dans la vie communautaire. Le culte qu’on leur rend est périodique et il utilise divers matériels rituels : masques, statues, récipients, instruments de musique, costumes, etc. A Baham, il existe des sanctuaires de la famille, du quartier, du lignage et du royaume. Le plus important parmi la dizaine des principaux sanctuaires est Fovu’.


La société hweneka’ en action

Les croyances des Baham liées à la divination, la malédiction ndo, la sorcellerie, la magie, la protection et la purification du royaume de façon occulte, donnent lieu à des rites, des danses et diverses cérémonies qu’animent les sociétés secrètes utilisant un matériel spécifique, des figures sculptées, peintes, tissées et brodées. L’apparition la plus spectaculaire de ces productions a lieu lors des cérémonies funéraires, de l’intronisation des rois et des notables, des rites bisannuels du kaing (rites relatifs à des initiations, à des cultes de fécondité, à l’évocation et à l’utilisation des forces occultes pour le bien-être du groupe). Une des principales raisons qui explique la liaison intime entre l’art et la religion est que l’expression graphique ou plastique restitue au langage la dimension de l’inexprimable. La difficulté de percevoir le monde invisible, le problème de montrer les aspects des pouvoirs surnaturels tout en voilant ceux qui sont réservés aux initiés, impliquent le recours aux symboles.

     
     
     
     

Statue religieuse représentant un chef d’une société sécrète kou’gaing (tadye kou’gaing)

     
     
     
     
 
     

Statue d’un homme assis (pfa gop)

[ Page supérieure ]

Home Les quatre musées Le projet Musée de Baham Musée de Bandjoun Musée de Mankon Musée de Babungo
baham@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by SYNUS