Mankon museum
Permanent exhibition
Mankon Kingdom or Ala’Mankon
History
Art and Power
Art and Society
Patronage, Clientèle, Exchanges and Artistic Relations
Creativity, Artists and Craftsmen
Mankon, itineraries of collective memory.
Informations

Creativity, Artists and Craftsmen

MASKS AND STATUES

The statues

Apart from some zoomorphic figures, the statues and statuettes are anthropomorphic. They are generally dynamic, vigorous and expressive. This production, sometimes covered by beads or cowries, represent or commemorate kings, queens, princesses, notables, servants and protector guardians.Some of the pieces are used in different ritual functions in the community (cult of ancestors, divining, healing, justice, twin worship, agricultural and fertility rites).All these objects are not displayed in public and those that are associated with an occult power are often placed away from indiscreet eyes, outside the royal quarter. Lastly, some figures have no religious function.

The masks

  The mask is one of the most outstanding symbolic expressions of the art of Mankon. It belongs to a specific regulatory society that uses it in processions, dances or ceremonies. It has to evoke and prove the presence of the supernatural, at times even amuse. It does not only include the pieces of wood used to hide the head or face, but also the costumes and accessories that are an integral part of it. It is associated with a rite, a dance, a choreography and appropriate music during events. Masks have specific functions on the political, religious, therapeutic, ritual, social or legal level.
Masked dancers at a ceremony, around the 70s  

The woodenheads kept in the Palace of Mankon are above all anthropomorphic and zoomorphic, but sometimes can be anthropo-zoomorphic, and even hybrid.

They can be divided into several categories with, naturally, varying margins of overlapping.

The zoomorphic masks catalogued are those of cattle, elephants, monkeys, birds and, more rarely, leopards and crocodiles.
The anthropomorphic masks can be divided into several sub-groups with countless sub-divisions. The commonest are the helmet masks. They often represent characters each with richly decorated hair and beard.
The most important and the most feared are those that appear only at the funeral of the fon and of some dignitaries of the kingdom or during certain periodic liturgies.

 
  Leader of the famous mambang dance of Nitob, performing in Yaounde, a few days before the trip to France, 1963

     
     
     

Anthropomorphic mask

     
     
 
     

Dance mask of princes’ society (atua ndzong ndzong)

 

CONTAINERS

The heritage of Mankon includes a wide variety of pots, vases, cups, jars, bowls, jugs, pitchers, bags and other recipients (made of clay, wood or other materials) for different uses (ritual material, ceremonial objects, cooking utensils etc.). The pieces that are to keep, store or prepare cult or prestige products (camwood powder and different beverages for initiations, palm wine and oil for libations, sauces, tobacco etc.) are sculpted, woven or modelled with great care. They are decorated with geometric motifs or symbolic figures which can at times be exuberant. They are strictly reserved for the fon and the major dignitaries of the kingdom. The most characteristic recipients of the royal treasure can be divided into several groups:
- wooden recipients;
- clay, ivory and metal recipients and cups;
- basket ware;
- ritual bags and calabashes (beaded or not) , some of which are fixed on to a small sculpted seat; there is a variety of ritual bags which are often very highly decorated;
- pipes.


The pipe often includes in general a bowl that is open towards the top and bent back by a tubular chimney to receive a suction tube. The Mankon specimens are made of clay or metal (bronze, brass). Their decoration is extremely rich. The pipes with anthropomorphic or zoomorphic decorations are reserved exclusively for the fon and the major dignitaries. While some pipes were made in Mankon, the majority of the pieces were produced in other places. Mankon has not been and is not a major centre of production for such works. In addition, pipes were the object of intense trade between the different kingdoms of the Grassland.

  Fon Ndefru III wearing a special headgear and holding a flywhisk and a pipe, early 50s.

     
     
     
     

Palm oil pot (sotü)

Pipes

     
     
   
     

Royal brass pipe with animal motifs

Basketry and Calabashes

     
     
     
     

Calabash for palm oil (jweh)

MUSICAL INSTRUMENTS

In Mankon, various musical instruments are used in leisure and different activities of social life. They may be made of iron, ivory or wood, possibly with other materials such as animal hide. They are often decorated with motifs ranging from simple geometric figures to anthropomorphic and zoomorphic figures. They can be divided into several groups: idiophones (slit drums, rattles, gongs and sanza); membranophones (drums with a single hide), string instruments (less common); wind instruments (trumpets, flutes).

Of these, the most important in social and religious life are gongs, trumpets, flutes, xylophones, rattles, drums and sanza. A good number of musical instruments belonging to the king, notables and customary societies play a liturgical role by accompanying or giving rhythm to songs and dances with processions. Some of these objects (drums, gongs etc.) with a sacred character have been sanctified by sacrifices and magical practices. In this case looking at them is sometimes forbidden and dangerous, especially at the time when they emit sounds.

Amongst the drums, slit drums can be distinguished from membrane drums. Slit drums can be divided into two categories: the smallest are talking drums, or instruments to animate dances, beaten with appropriate sticks; the larger ones are monumental and ritual war drums. The richly decorated membrane drums with zoomorphic, anthropomorphic and geometric motifs can be further divided into two groups:

  • the füka, a vertical drum with a single membrane and a slender trunk, said to be of the male sex and played as a prelude to dances ;
  • the nkag, a vertical membrane drum with feet, and a squatter trunk, it is said to be of the female sex.

Weapons

The Mankon use a variety of weapons for war but also for parades, dances and ceremonies as ritual material or prestige in this case. Certain pieces are very richly decorated.

     
     
     
     

Male drum (füka)

COSTUME, FINERY AND ARMS

In daily life, during ceremonies and dances, the Mankon wear many different costumes and symbolic, ceremonial or prestige headdresses as well as flywhisks, staffs and ceremonial spears.
The shape and the decoration of each piece depends on the rank and social status of its owner.

Royal headdresses are richly decorated with figures of animals and valuable elements (cowries, beads). The most impressive and important of these headdresses is the ma komngang which only the fon of Mankon wears during the dance. The treasure of the fon includes royal costumes (in ndob nwa’ fabric, sometimes decorated with cowries), used for dances and, in general, as ritual garments par excellence. Ndob is the richest in meanings of the different Grassland fabrics.

 

Its religious, symbolic and ceremonial functions are considerable. The palace specimen is only one of the multiple types of ndob to be found in the Grassland and neighbouring peoples. The dye, the type of designs, the over-sewing of raffia allows distinguishing the varieties of ndob.

Staffs often used as supports for various symbolic motifs play in general important ritual and ceremonial functions, apart from a few contemporary specimens used as simple objects of daily life. There are a great variety of these and belong strictly to kings and notables. On his enthronement, the new fon of Mankon appears in public holding in his right hand a ceremonial staff decorated at the end with three bird feathers. This object will be kept as the sacred royal sceptre in the kwifo quarter.

Flywhisks (or dance whips) lünga each have a sculpted wooden handle (generally in an anthropomorphic or zoomorphic shape) fixed on to a horse or buffalo tail. These are real trophies displayed at funerals and dances. The spears (in local style or of foreign inspiration) are used during traditional ceremonies by the fon, his servants and the powerful members of the customary societies, as attributes of the royal power and the unity of the country.

The Mankon use a variety of weapons for war but also for parades, dances and ceremoniesas ritual or prestige material in this case. Certain specimens are richly decorated.

     
     

Beaded royal headdress

MANKON ARTISTS

The artistic objects of the Mankon palace have been produced with extreme aesthetic richness and expertise in the use of materials by talented artists (the majority of whom are sculptors) who are known and very respected by the whole community.

Certainly, the identity of the authors of almost one-third of this production still remains to be determined, but with the information already collected in the field, two-thirds of the remaining works were produced by artists of Mankon (about 50%) on the one hand, Ndop artists mainly (Babanki, Tungo, Babungo, Bamessing) and a few rare Bamoum and Bangwa on the other.

Certain Makon artists that have been identified are still alive, However, many others are dead and have left us these excellently crafted objects which we can admire today: Ndzah; Moses Tse Wamuchu; Ivo Tse Akor; Suka Nso; Tsi Aghazüga, etc. and women who are excellent at basket ware and pottery.

The sculptor prince Fon Achirifor  

The Mankon artist, producer of royal and noble works or those of great value, is in the first place a keeper of tradition. He is also ion the avant-garde of innovation. The production of orders in compliance with the traditional model does not exclude personal research and the inventive spirit of the creator. The latter has received solid training and a long learning (generally lasting more than fifteen years, to become a master. He has a great capacity of abstraction and synthesis and maintains a balance between naturalism and realism.

  The artist Fon Tryisef

In addition, the proportions he gives to the different parts of the human body and decoration are directly connected with the notions of importance and meaning. Thus, certain formal features will be highlighted to the detriment of others, which are reduced or omitted. The artist uses a carefully « coded » language in the multiple motifs that allow him to express ideas, artistic subjects, mythical scenes, historic tales etc. requested by the client. The sculptors are covered with honour and riches by the fon, the notables and the customary societies. Those who produce the objects of cult are members of these associations and count amongst the dignitaries of the kingdom.

[ Top page ]

Home The four museums The project Baham museum Bandjoun museum Mankon museum Babungo museum
mankon@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by Synus

Musée de Mankon
Exposition permanente
Royaume de Mankon ou Ala’Mankon
Histoire
Art et Pouvoir
Art et Société
Mécénat, clientèle, Echanges et Rapports Artistiques
Créativité, Artistes et Artisans
Mankon, itinéraires de la mémoire
Informations

Créativité, Artistes et Artisans

MASQUES ET STATUES

Les statues

A part quelques figures zoomorphes, les statues et les statuettes sont anthropomorphes. Elles sont généralement dynamiques, vigoureuses et expressives. Cette production, parfois recouverte de perles ou de cauris, représente ou commémore les rois, les reines, les princesses, les notables, les serviteurs et les gardiens-protecteurs. Certains pièces sont utilis ées dan s différentes fonctions rituelles dans la communauté (le culte des ancêtres, la divination, la guérison, la justice, le culte des jumeaux, les rites agricoles et de fécondité). Tous ces objets ne sont pas exposés en public et ceux qui sont associés à un pouvoir occulte sont souvent gardés loin des yeux indiscrets, hors du quartier royal. En dernier lieu, quelques figures n’ont pas de fonction religieuse.

Les masques

 

Le masque est une des expressions symboliques les plus remarquables de l’art de Mankon. Il appartient à une société spécifique coutumière qui l’utilise lors des processions, des danses ou des cérémonies. Il doit évoquer et faire preuve de la présence du surnaturel, et parfois même divertir. Il ne comprend pas seulement les morceaux de bois utilisés pour cacher la tête ou le visage, mais également les costumes et les accessoires qui le complètent. Il est associé à un rite, à une danse, à une chorégraphie et à la musique appropriée pendant les manifestations. Les masques ont des fonctions spécifiques au niveau politique, religieux, thérapeutique, rituel, social ou légal.

Danseurs masqués à une cérémonie, vers 1970  

Les masques en bois conservés au Palais de Mankon sont surtout anthropomorphes et zoomorphes, mais parfois ils peuvent être anthropo-zoomorphes et même hybrides.

Ils peuvent être divisés en différentes catégories avec naturellement des marges variables de chevauchement.

Les masques zoomorphes catalogués sont ceux de bovidés, d’éléphants, de singes, d’oiseaux et, plus rarement, de léopards et de crocodiles.
Les masques anthropomorphes peuvent être divisés en différents sous-groupes avec d’innombrables sous-divisions. Les plus répandus sont les masques-cagoules. Ils représentent fréquemment des personnages avec des cheveux et une barbe richement décorés.
Les plus importants et les plus craints sont ceux qui apparaissent uniquement aux funérailles du fon et de quelques dignitaires du royaume ou bien pendant certaines liturgies périodiques.

 
  Leader de la célèbre danse mambang de Nitob, se produisant à Yaoundé, quelques jours avant son voyage pour la France, 1963

     
     
     

Cloche (kwifo)

     
     
 
     

Masque-casque (atua müwatsu’)

 

RECIPIENTS

Le patrimoine de Mankon comprend une grande variété de marmites, de vases, de coupes, de bocaux, de bols, de cruches, d’amphores, de sacs et d’autres récipients (en argile, en bois ou d’autres matériaux) pour des emplois différents (matériel rituel, objets de cérémonie, ustensiles de cuisin e, etc.). Les pièces qui servent à garder, conserver ou préparer des produits cultuels ou de prestige (poudre de camwood et boissons différentes pour les initiations, vin de palme et huile pour des libations, sauces, taba c, etc.) sont sculptées, tissées ou bien modelées avec un grand soin. Elles sont décorées de motifs géométriques ou de figures symboliques qui peuvent être parfois très exubérants. Elles sont strictement réservées au fon et aux principaux dignitaires du royaume. Les récipients les plus caractéristiques du trésor royal peuvent être divisés en plusieurs groupes:
- récipients en bois;
- récipients et coupes en argile, en ivoire et en métal;
- vannerie;
- sacs rituels et calebasses (décorés de perles ou non), dont quelques- uns sont fixés à un petit siège sculpté; il existe aussi une variété de sacs rituels qui sont souvent très décorés;
- pipes.


La pipe comprend en général un fourneau qui est ouvert vers le haut et plié en arrière pour la cheminée. Les exemples de Mankon sont faits en argile ou en métal (bronze, laiton). Elles ont une décoration extrêmement riche. Les pipes avec des décorations anthropomorphes ou zoomorphes sont réservées exclusivement au fon et aux principaux dignitaires. Pendant que quelques pipes étaient fabriquées à Mankon, la plupart des pipes était produite ailleurs. Mankon n’a pas été et n’est pas un centre important de production pour de telles oeuvres. En outre, les pipes étaient l’objet d’un commerce intense entre les différents royaumes du Grassland.

  Le fon Ndefru III avec un couvre-chef spécial, avec un chasse-mouches et une pipe, début des années 50.

     
     
     
     

Récipient en bois et raphia à vin (terü)

Pipes

     
     
   
     

Bol à fumer en bois de femmes (shikongø)

Vanneries et Calebasses

     
     
     
     

Sac royal en raphia (abœ ano fo)

INSTRUMENTS DE MUSIQUE

A Mankon, divers instruments de musique sont utilisés dans le cadre des loisirs et des différentes activités de la vie sociale. Ils peuvent être en fer, en ivoire ou en bois, associés ou non à d’autres matériaux comme la peau de bête. Ils sont souvent ornés. La gamme des ornements va de la simple figure géométrique aux sculptures anthropomorphes et zoomorphes. Ils peuvent être divisés en différents groupes: idiophones (tambours à fente, crécelle s, hochets et sanza); membranophones (tambours à peau unique), les cordophones (les moins répandus ), les aérophones (trompes et flûtes).

Parmi ces instruments, les plus importants dans la vie sociale et religieuse sont les cloches, les trompes, les flûtes, les xylophones, les crécelles, les tambours et les sanzas. Un bon nombre d’instruments de musique appartenant au roi, aux notables et aux sociétés secrètes, jo ue un rôle liturgiqu e, accompagnant ou rythmant les chants, les danses et les processions. Certains de ces objets (tambours, cloches , etc.) revêtant un caractère sacré ont été sanctifiés par des sacrifices et des pratiques magiques. Dans ce cas, les regarder est parfois interdit et dangereux, surtout au moment où ils émettent des sons.

Parmi les tambours, il faut distinguer les tambours à fente et les tambours à membrane. Les tambours à fente peuvent être divisés en deux catégories: les plus petits sont utilisés pour communiquer ou pour animer les danses (ils sont frappés avec un bât on); les plus grands, plus monumentaux, sont des tambours de guerre rituels. Les tambours à membrane richement ornés avec des motifs zoomorphes, anthropomorphes et géométriques peuvent être ultérieurement divisés en deux groupes:

  • la füka, un tambour vertical avec une seule membrane et un fût élancé, dit de sexe mâle et joué avant les danses;
  • le nkag, un tambour à membrane verticale avec des pieds et un fût plus trapu, dit de sexe femelle.

Armes

Les Mankon utilisent une grande variété d’armes pour la guerre mais également pour les parades, les danses et les cérémonie s, et dans ce cas, il s’agit de matériel rituel ou de prestige. Certaines pièces sont très richement ornées.

     
     
     
     

Sanza (nülong nü makongé)

COSTUMES, PARURES ET ARMES

Dans la vie quotidienne, au cours de cérémonies et de danses, les Mankon portent beaucoup de costumes différents et des coiffures symboliques, cérémonielles ou de prestige ainsi que des chasse-mouches, des cannes et des lances de cérémonie.
La forme et la décoration de chaque objet dépendent du rang et du statut social de son propriétaire.

Les coiffures royales sont richement ornées de figures d’animaux et d’éléments précieux (cauris, perles). La coiffure la plus importante et la plus impressionnante est le makomngang que seul le fon de Mankon peut porter pendant la danse. Le trésor du fon comprend des costumes royaux (en tissu ndob nwa’, parfois orné de cauris), utilisés pour les danses et, en général, comme des vêtements rituels par excellence. Le tissu ndob est le plus riche de sens des différents tissus du Grassland.

 

Ses fonctions religieuses, symboliques et cérémoniels sont remarquables. L’exemple du palais est seulement un des multiples genres du tissu ndob que l’on peut trouver dans le Grassland et chez les populations voisines. La teinture, le type de motifs, la surpiqûre en raphia permet de distinguer les variétés de ndob.

Des cannes souvent utilisées comme des supports pour différents motifs symboliques jouent en général des fonctions rituelles et cérémonielles importantes, sauf dans quelques exemples contemporains où elles sont utilis ées comme des objets de la vie quotidienne. Il en existe une grande variété et elles appartiennent rigoureusement aux rois et aux notables. A son intronisation, le nouveau fon de Mankon apparaît en public en tenant dans la main droite un bâton cérémoniel orné à un bout de trois plumes d’oiseau. Cet objet sera gardé comme le sceptre royal dans le kwifo.

Les chasse-mouches (ou fouets de danse) lünga ont chacun un manche en bois sculpté (généralement dans une forme anthropomorphe ou zoomorphe ), fixé à une queue de cheval ou de buffle. Ce sont de véritables trophées exhibés lors de funérailles ou de danses. Les lances (de style local ou d’inspiration étrangère) sont utilisées pendant les cérémonies traditionnelles par le fon, ses serviteurs et les membres puissants des sociétés coutumières, en tant qu’attributs du pouvoir royal et de l’unité du pays.

Les Mankon utilisent une grande variété d’armes pour la guerre mais également pour les parades, les danses et les cérémonies mais il s’agit dans ce cas de matériel rituel ou de prestige. Certains exemples sont richement ornés.

     
     

Epée avec fourreau (lümbø)

LES ARTISTES MANKON

Les objets artistiques du palais de Mankon ont été réalisés avec une extrême richesse esthétique et une grande expertise dans l’emploi de matériaux de la part d’artistes talentueux (dont la plupart sont des sculpteurs), connus et très respectés par toute la communauté.

L’identité des auteurs de presque un tiers de cette production doit encore être établie, mais selon les renseignements déjà recueillis sur le terrain, les deux-tiers des œuvres restantes ont été réalisés par des artistes de Mankon (environ 50%) d’une part, principalement des artistes Ndop (Babanki, Tungo, Babungo, Bamessing) et d’autre part, quelques rares artistes Bamoum et Bangwa.

Certains artistes de Mankon qui ont été identifiés sont toujours en vie. Toutefois, beaucoup d’autres sont morts et nous ont laissé ces objets magnifiquement œuvrés que nous pouvons admirer aujourd’hui: Ndzah; Moses Tse Wamuchu; Ivo Tse Akor; Suka Nso; Tsi Aghazüga, etc. et les femmes qui sont excellentes dans la vannerie et la céramique.

Le prince-sculpteur Fon Achirifor  

L’artiste de Mankon, créateur d’œuvres royales ou nobles ou de celles de grande valeur, est, en premier lieu, un gardien de la tradition. Il est également à l’avant-garde de l’innovation. La réalisation de commandes conformément au modèle traditionnel n’exclut pas la recherche personnelle et l’esprit inventif du créateur. Ce dernier a reçu une bonne formation et un long apprentissage (généralement plus de quinze ans) pour devenir un maître. Il a une grande capacité d’abstraction et de synthèse et il maintient un équilibre entre le naturalisme et le réalisme.

  L’artiste Fon Tryisef

Les proportions qu’il donne aux différentes parties du corps humain et à la décoration sont directement liées aux notions d’importance et de sens. Donc, certains traits formels seront soulignés au détriment d’autres, qui seront réduits ou omis. L’artiste utilise un langage soigneusement «codé» dans les multiples motifs qui lui permettent d’exprimer des idées, des sujets artistiques, des scènes mythiques, des contes historique s, etc.. demandés par le client. Les sculpteurs sont recouverts d’honneurs et de richesses par le fon, les notables et les sociétés coutumières. Ceux qui réalisent les objets cultuels appartiennent à ces associations et ils sont les dignitaires du royaume.

[ Page supérieure ]

Home Les quatre musées Le projet Musée de Baham Musée de Bandjoun Musée de Mankon Musée de Babungo
mankon@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by Synus