Mankon museum
Permanent exhibition
Mankon Kingdom or Ala’Mankon
History
Art and Power
Art and Society
Patronage, Clientèle, Exchanges and Artistic Relations
Creativity, Artists and Craftsmen
Mankon, itineraries of collective memory.
Informations

Art and Society

In Mankon we are dealing with a society with a state (or fundamentally with a centralized chefferie/chieftaincy/fondom with a relatively strong political power for some), which is inegalitarian and hierarchical. The nuclear family includes a man, his wife (or wives), the unmarried children and even the married children with their wives. It occupies a hamlet grouped around the father’s house. The majority of households dominated by a polygamous man take on the aspect of an extended family, at times including three generations living together.  
    Scene of a traditional wedding: marriage rituals of a princess at nüshwim

Several families form lineages and clans with a view to permanent segmentation, of patrilineal filiation. Clan and lineage are designated by the same word atsey. In principle, a clan groups together all the people who are supposedly descended in agnatic filiation from a common ancestor. But the link of relationship in Mankon covers consanguinity, alliance by marriage and political alliance.
In opposition to common lineages there are royal lineages. It is the heads of the lineages and the clans that represent the local groups in the central institutions, the arena of competition between clans.
Funeral scene: mourning the "disappearence" of fon Ndefru III in 1959  

Lastly, social control, the resolution of conflicts and purification are ensured by the kwifo and mainly by ritual means using a rich material.

The objects of the treasures of the king and the notables express stratification, hierarchy, cohesion and social values. Globally the public or secret display of the symbolic objects at dances and ceremonies by the fon, the notables and secret societies tend to have the beliefs, values, traditions and rules respected and to reinforce the prestige of the authorities and of the institutions. In addition, with the Mankon, ritual objects more than every other procedure, have in the first place a function of communication for social, religious, magic and political values also necessary for social cohesion.

The way in which the Mankon express themselves by means of symbols and artistic forms make up a language of visual forms.
The artist or craftsman in producing the cultural objects, represents and venerates essential themes: joys that procure force, abundance, fertility, love, maternity, the mystery of death, respect for the ancestors, enjoyment, success, defeat, etc…

 

Members of the m üsongong society about to perform the m üsongong ritual at Nkyie Asa’a

     
     
     
     

Marriage staff (atshuige fo)

     
     
     
     

Sleeveless feathered mesh costume (tanga’a)

     
     
     
 
     

Anthropomorphic facial mask (atua makongé)

[ Top page ]

Home The four museums The project Baham museum Bandjoun museum Mankon museum Babungo museum
mankon@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by Synus

Musée de Mankon
Exposition permanente
Royaume de Mankon ou Ala’Mankon
Histoire
Art et Pouvoir
Art et Société
Mécénat, clientčle, Echanges et Rapports Artistiques
Créativité, Artistes et Artisans
Mankon, itinéraires de la mémoire
Informations

Art et Société

A Mankon, nous parlons d’une société avec un état (ou fondamentalement une chefferie/fondom centralisée, avec un pouvoir politique relativement fort pour certains) qui est inégalitaire et hiérarchique. La famille nucléaire est composée d’un homme, de sa femme (ou de ses femmes), des enfants non mariés et même des enfants mariés et de leurs femmes. Elle occupe un hameau autour de la case du père. La plupart des ménages dominés par un polygame assu me l’aspect d’une famille élargie, parfois avec trois générations qui y cohabitent.  
    Scène d’un mariage traditionnel: les rites de mariage d’une princesse à nüshwim

Plusieurs familles forment des lignages et des clans en vue d’une segmentation permanente, de filiation patrilinéaire. Le clan et le lignage sont désignés par la même parole, atsey. En principe, un clan regroupe toutes les personnes qui sont censées descendre en filiation agnatique d’un ancêtre commun. Mais le lien du rapport à Mankon recouvre la consanguinité, l’alliance par le mariage et l’alliance politique.
En opposition avec les lignages roturiers, il y a les lignages royaux. Ce sont les chefs des lignages et des clans qui représentent les groupes locaux aux institutions centrales, l’arène de la concurrence entre les clans.

Scène de funérailles: le deuil pour la «disparition» du fon Ndefru III , en 1959  

En dernier lieu , le contrôle social, la résolution des conflits et la purification sont assurés par le kwifo et principalement avec des moyens rituels et l’emploi de matériel riche.

Les objets des trésors du roi et des notables expriment la stratification, la hiérarchie, la cohésion et les valeurs sociales. Globalement, l’exposition publique ou secrète des objets symboliques lors de danses et de cérémonies par le fon, les notables et les sociétés secrète s, ont tendance à faire respecter les croyances, les valeurs, les traditions et les règles et à renforcer le prestige des autorités et des institutions. En outre, les objets rituels, plus que tout autre procédure, ont en premier lieu une fonction de communication des valeurs sociales, religieuses, magiques et politiques, également nécessaires pour la cohésion sociale.

La façon dont les Mankon s’expriment à travers des symboles et d es formes artistiques constitue un langage de formes visuelles.
L’artiste ou l’artisan, en réalisant les objets culturels, représente et vénère des thèmes essentiels: les joies produites par la force, l’abondance, la fécondité, l’amour, la maternité, le mystère de la mort, le respect des ancêtres, le plaisir, le succès, la défait e, etc …

 

Membres de la société müsongong pendant le rituel müsongong à Nkyie Asa’a

     
     
     
     

[ Page supérieure ]

Home Les quatre musées Le projet Musée de Baham Musée de Bandjoun Musée de Mankon Musée de Babungo
mankon@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by Synus