Mankon museum
Permanent exhibition
Mankon Kingdom or Ala’Mankon
History
Art and Power
Art and Society
Patronage, Clientèle, Exchanges and Artistic Relations
Creativity, Artists and Craftsmen
Mankon, itineraries of collective memory.
Informations

Art and Power
Power of the Palace and of the King

Atsum, dwelling house of Mankon
kings

The present royal palace

 The arts and all material culture are the privileged supports of the ideology of royalty and of the kingdom. Here, two poles of power opposed to one another and finding a balance according to the cases are displayed, materialized and legitimised by various cultural objects: the power of the fon; the power of the notables of the kwifo (executing body of the decisions of the kingdom’s government, symbol of the sovereignty of Mankon or of the country).

The capital (nto’) centred on the royal palace is the main cultural, administrative and religious centre of the kingdom. That is where the fon lives with his numerous wives, children, servants and the dignitaries of the court.

It is also the seat of the main customary societies and of the central government, the « head » of the country.



It is there that the sacred and/or forbidden places are to be found, including the sanctuary where the skulls of the dead kings are kept. Here the domain reserved for the fon and his family is opposed to that of the kwifo and the associated secret societies. The nto’ houses in particular the royal treasure of the palace which contains a great variety of objects which are used during ceremonies and royal cults, including initiation rites and the enthronement of the fon, the annual celebration of abüng afo, the rituals of Ala’nkyi, etc…

The objects of the palace and the symbolic motifs represent archives and documents which are important sources of knowledge on the sacred royalty, social categories and royal cults (or of the country) deriving from them. Royal art is also an art of exhibition. The works of art of the palace have as their main aim to display the greatness of the fon, to show his prestige and power, to symbolise his multiple attributions: high priest; spiritual leader of the Mankon; chief of the royal clan; head of religious rituals, the war council and the council of notables, b ükum; head of all the regulatory societies; symbol of the fertility and prosperity of the country, supreme judge, etc… An entire decorum and set of rituals surround the royal person, as well as his acts. A certain number of animals, leopards, buffaloes, elephants, cocks, etc. which are to be found in the majority of the works of art are the symbols of royal power.

     
     
     
     

Injunction spear of kwifo lodge (nükong nü kwifo)


Power of notables and religious power

The organization of the Mankon society is based on the distribution of hierarchical titles and regulatory associations through which the notables are supported to balance the royal power.
These dignitaries who take part in the government and the administration of the country, assist the fon in his functions are:
- queen mothers (mafo);
- princesses and titled princes (ndifo, muma, etc.);
- titled retainers in charge of royal cults and other activities;
- the warriors who defend the country;
clan and lineage heads, councillors of the kingdom, etc.

  Fo Angwafo III's aunt, Mankah Ndefru III, Angwafo III and his mather, Mafo Mankah Angwafo

They include: common notables (the most powerful and the most feared belong to the kwifo) and royal notables; the palace notables and local notables.

Notability is based mainly on the organization of the clans. It is not exercised solely by the multiplicity of titles and the enumeration of powers but the emblems and different symbols represented by the objects.

Social stratification is translated into art and material culture. The fon and the notables advisors/co-founders of the kingdom have an exceptional place and the principal non-fixed strata are:
- the descendants of the fon and the members of the royal family;
- the retainers, the heirs of titled retainers, and collaborators of the fon; the ordinary inhabitants.

Muma, a Mankon notable at the abüng afo ceremony  

The regulatory societies through which the titles are distributed are of a great variety and each can have masks, dances, symbols and its specific material which distinguishes it from the others.

They can be classified according to their functions, the periods of their foundation, their meeting places, the social stratification (societies of princes or of members of the royal family such as the takumbeng, societies of retainers or of common notables such as the kwifo, mixed societies such as the council of the bükum bringing together the great notables and advisors of the country, societies of ordinary inhabitants).

  House of the takumbeng society

The kwifo is made up of several autonomous lodges specialised in certain domains such as justice, the police, religious, customary law, medicine, magic, etc.… The most feared objects are those, which are consecrated to fertile or occult forces, to magic, to a transcendental power. Religion can be considered as all those means (prayers, sacrifices, offerings, ceremonies etc.) through which man asks supernatural beings for help. In Mankon, artistic creation (in particular relative to objects for worship or rituals) is subjected to rules and a code, one of the essential fundamentals of which is the autochthonous religion, which intervenes in this domain in several ways.

Mankon, a view of the kwifo sacred forest next to the royal palace  

     
     
     

Müwatsu’ dance costume (nkfunda)

     
     
     
   
     

Zoomorphic wooden throne (abœrü afungø)

[ Top page ]

Home The four museums The project Baham museum Bandjoun museum Mankon museum Babungo museum
mankon@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by Synus

Musée de Mankon
Exposition permanente
Royaume de Mankon ou Ala’Mankon
Histoire
Art et Pouvoir
Art et Société
Mécénat, clientèle, Echanges et Rapports Artistiques
Créativité, Artistes et Artisans
Mankon, itinéraires de la mémoire
Informations

Art et Pouvoir
Power of the Palace and of the King

Atsum, case de résidence des rois de Mankon

Le palais royal actuel

Les arts et toute la culture matérielle sont les supports privilégiés de l’idéologie de la royauté et du royaume. Ici, deux pôles de pouvoir opposés l’un à l’autre , et qui trouvent un équilibre selon les ca s, sont exposés, matérialisés et légitimés par différents objets culturels: le pouvoir du fon; le pouvoir des notables du kwifo (l’organisme exécutif des décisions du gouvernement du royaume, symbole de la souveraineté de Mankon ou du pays).

La capitale ( nto’) avec en son cœur le palais royal est le principal centre culturel, administratif et religieux du royaume. C’est ici qu’habite le fon avec ses nombreuses femmes, ses enfants, ses serviteurs et les dignitaires de la cour.

Il est également le siège des principales sociétés coutumières et du gouvernement central, la «tête » du pays.

 

C’est ici que l’on trouve les lieux sacrés et/ou interdits, y compris le sanctuaire où les crânes des rois défunts sont conservés. Ici, le domaine réservé au fon et à sa famille s’oppose à celui du kwifo et des sociétés secrètes associées. Le nto’ abrite en particulier le trésor royal du palais qui contient une grande variété d’objets utilisés au cours des cérémonies et des cultes royaux, y compris les rites d’initiation et l’intronisation du fon , la célébration annuelle de l’ abüng afo, les rituels d’Ala’nkyi, etc…

Les objets du palais et les motifs symboliques constituent des archives ou des documents qui sont des sources importantes de connaissance sur la royauté sacrée, les catégories sociales et les cultes royaux (ou du pays) qui en découlent. L’art royal est également un art d’exhibition. Les œuvres d’art du palais ont comme objectif principal l’étalement de la grandeur du fon, afin de montrer son prestige et son pouvoir . Elles symbolisent également de multiples attributions: grand prêtre; leader spirituel des Mankon; chef du clan royal; chef des rituels religieux, du conseil de guerre et du conseil des notables, bükum; le chef de toutes les sociétés coutumières ; symbole de la fertilité et de prospérité du pays , juge suprêm e, etc. Toute une étiquette et une série de rituels entourent la personne royale ainsi que ses actes. Un certain nombre d’animaux (léopards, buffles, éléphants, coq s, etc …) qui se trouvent dans la plupart des œuvres d’art sont en fait des symboles du pouvoir royal.

     
     
     
     

Pipe à motif de tête d’éléphant (ken fo)


Pouvoir des notables et po uvoir religieux

L’organisation de la société mankon est basée sur la distribution des titres hiérarchiques et sur les associations coutumières à travers l esquelles les notables peuvent équilibrer le pouvoir royal.
Ces dignitaires qui font partie du gouvernement et de l’administration du pays et qui aident le f on dans ses fonctions sont:
- les reines-mères ( mafo);
- les princesses et les princes titrés ( ndifo, muma, etc.);
- les serviteurs titrés responsables d es cultes royaux et d’autres activités;
- les guerriers défendant le pays;
- les chefs d es cla ns et des lignages, les conseillers du royaume, etc.

  La tante du fo Angwafo III, Mankah Ndefru III, Angwafo III et sa mère, mafo Mankah Angwafo

Ils comprennent: les notables roturiers (les plus puissants et les plus craints appartiennent au kwifo) et les notables royaux; les notables du palais et les notables locaux.

La notabilité est basée principalement sur l’organisation des clans. Elle n’est pas exercée uniquement par la multiplicité des titres et l’énumération des pouvoirs mais par les emblèmes et les différents symboles représentés par les objets.

La stratification sociale se traduit dans l’art et dans la culture matérielle. Le fon et les notables conseillers/co-fondateurs du royaume ont une position exceptionnelle et les principales couches non-fixes sont:
- les descendants du fon et les membres de la famille royale;
- les serviteurs, les héritiers des serviteurs titrés et les collaborateurs du fon; les habitants ordinaires.

Muma , un notable Mankon à la cérémonie abüng afo.  

Les sociétés coutumières à travers lesquelles les titres sont distribués sont d’une grande variété et chacune peut avoir des masques, des danses, des symboles et son propre matériel qui la distingue des autres.

Elles peuvent être classifiées selon leurs fonctions, les périodes de leur fondation, leurs lieux de réunion, la stratification sociale (sociétés de princes ou de membres de la famille royale comme le takumbeng, sociétés de serviteurs ou de notables roturiers comme le kwifo, sociétés mélangées comme le conseil du bükum qui regroupe les grands notables et les conseillers du pays, société d’habitants ordinaires).

  Case de la société takumbeng

Le kwifo est composé de plusieurs sections autonomes spécialisées dans certains domaines comme la justice, la police, la loi religieuse et coutumière, la médecine, la magi e, etc.… Les objets les plus craints sont ceux qui sont consacrés aux forces fécondes ou occultes, à la magie ou à un pouvoir transcendantal. La religion peut être considérée comme tous ces moyens (prières, sacrifices, offrandes, cérémoni es, etc.) à travers lesquels l’homme demande l’aide aux êtres surnaturels. A Mankon, la création artistique (surtout par rapport aux objets cultuels ou rituels) est soumise à des règles et à un code, dont l’un des fondamentaux est la religion autochtone, qui intervient dans ce domaine de plusieurs façons.

Mankon, une vue de la forêt sacrée kwifo à côté du palais royal  

     
     
     

Statuette anthropomorphique en bois (füngkœbo)

     
     
     
   
     

Trône zoomorphique en bois (abœrü afungø)

[ Page supérieure ]

Home Les quatre musées Le projet Musée de Baham Musée de Bandjoun Musée de Mankon Musée de Babungo
mankon@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by Synus