The Bandjoun museum
Permanent exhibition
The land and the men
Myths, legends and history
Kingdom and society
Secret societies and religions
Creation
Bandjoun yesterday, today and tomorrow
Itineraries of the collective memory
Information

Secret societies and religions

Great preservers of works of art with a ritual character, the societies mkem, which are secret to a greater or lesser degree (only some are genuinely secret) represent the skeleton of all the social structures of Bandjoun.

It is through them that the hierarchical titles are distributed. They are of a great variety and each association has its meeting house, its masks, its costumes, its dances and its symbols.
 
   

Dance of the kwosi society


The secret societies mkem can be classified according to their functions (political, military, religious, administrative etc), the periods of their foundation, their meeting places (the large customary societies whose base is located in the capital tsa as opposed to the numerous societies in the quarters as opposed to the numerous societies in the quarters, the sub-chefferies, the powerful lineages for example), especially according to social stratification (the mkem of the descendants of the fo, the mkem of the retainers or the common notables, the mkem of the ordinary inhabitants).

Masks, receptacles, musical instruments, costumes, adornments, statues, emblems and various objects are used by the members of the mkem during rites, ceremonies and dances as part of their multiple activities.

 
   

Organised reconstruction of wearing the mask known as “ batcham” of the msop society with the appropriate mask.


 

In Bandjoun, artistic creation is subject to rules and a code on which one of the foundations is religion, which intervenes in this domain in several ways. In addition, rituals and prayers are essential for the production, implementation and exhibition of certain ritual objects. Despite the introduction of Christianity which is in great expansion, the vast majority of the Bandjoun worship countless divinities that protect the country, the places, lineages and clans and even individuals, whilst believing in a supreme being Si which cannot be represented in any image.

Members of the kemdje society    

The cult of the dead and in particular of the ancestors is the foundation of the autochthonous religion.

Countless legends exist on divination, curses ndo’, on the command and manipulation of (a dynamic and widespread transcendental power and magic) and witchcraft. These beliefs give rise to rites using specific material which includes in particular various cultural and artistic objects.

 
    Member of the nyeleng society

     
     
     
     
     

Grelot en matière végétale (ndé)

[ Top page ]

Home The four museums The project Baham museum Bandjoun museum Mankon museum Babungo museum
bandjoun@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by SYNUS

Musée de Bandjoun
Exposition permanente
Le pays et les hommes
Mythes, légendes et histoire
Royaume et société
Sociétés secrètes et religions
Création
Bandjoun hier, aujourd’hui et demain
Itinéraires de la memoire collective
Informations

Sociétés secrètes et religions

Grandes conservatrices d'œuvres d'art à caractère rituel, les sociétés mkem, plus ou moins sécrètes (seules quelques-unes sont authentiquement sécrètes) constituent l'ossature de tout l'édifice social de Bandjoun.

C'est à travers elles que sont répartis les titres hiérarchisés. Elles sont d'une grande variété et chaque association a sa maison de réunion, ses masques, ses costumes, ses danses, ses symboles.

 
   

Danse de la société kwosi


On peut classer les sociétés sécrètes mkem selon leurs fonctions (politiques, militaires, religieuses, économiques, administratives, etc.), les périodes de leur fondation, leurs lieux de réunion (les grandes sociétés coutumières dont le siège est situé dans la capitale tsa s'opposant aux nombreuses sociétés de quartiers, des sous-chefferies, des puissants lignages par exemple), surtout selon la stratification sociale (les mkem des descendants du fo, les mkem des serviteurs ou notables roturiers, les mkem des habitants ordinaires).

Masques, contenants, instruments de musique, costumes, parures, statues, emblèmes et divers objets sont utilisés par les membres du mkem lors des rites, des cérémonies, des danses dans le cadre de leurs multiples activités.

 
   

Reconstitution organisée du port du masque dit “batcham” de la société msop avec le costume approprié


  A Bandjoun, la création artistique est soumise à des règles, à un code dont l'un des fondements est la religion, laquelle intervient dans ce domaine de plusieurs manières. Par exemple, elle constitue ainsi une source d'inspiration pour les artistes. De plus les rituels, les prières sont indispensables à la fabrication, à la mise en service et à l'exhibition de certains objets rituels. Malgré l'introduction du christianisme en plein essor, les Bandjoun en grande majorité rendent des cultes à de nombreuses divinités protectrices du pays, des lieux, des lignages, des clans, voire des individus, tout en croyant à un être suprême Si qu'on ne peut représenter par une quelconque image.
Membres de la société kemdje avec sa majesté Djomo    

Le culte des morts, et en particulier celui des ancêtres, constitue la base fondamentale de la religion autochtone.

De nombreuses légendes existent ayant trait à la divination, à la malédiction ndo', à la maîtrise et à la manipulation du ké (puissance transcendante, dynamique et diffuse, magie), à la sorcellerie. De telles croyances donnent lieu à des rites utilisant un matériel spécifique qui comprend notamment divers objets culturels et artistiques.

 
    Membre de la société nyeleng

     
     
     
     
     

Vase parallélépipédique à motif de lézards

[ Page supérieure ]

Home Les quatre musées Le projet Musée de Baham Musée de Bandjoun Musée de Mankon Musée de Babungo
bandjoun@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by SYNUS