The Bandjoun museum
Permanent exhibition
The land and the men
Myths, legends and history
Kingdom and society
Secret societies and religions
Creation
Bandjoun yesterday, today and tomorrow
Itineraries of the collective memory
Information

The land and the men

The land

Bandjoun lies in the province of West Cameroon and covers more than three-quarters of the department of Koung-khi. It occupies two different sectors. The first is a low-lying area (900 to 1100m above sea-level), not very large and almost empty, which is bordered for almost 28 km by the river Noun. The area is for both hunting and farming. The second and larger sector is the high plateau (1500m above sea-level) dominating a drop in altitude of between 300 and 500 m of the valley of the Noun. It has rounded hills between which streams have eroded a network of valleys, often marshy where the raffia-palms that are so very useful for building, food and making objects, grow abundantly.  
   

A Bandjoun landscape


 

The climate is tropical with two seasons (one rainy, the other dry).
It is remarkably cool and salubrious (except in the valley of the Noun).
It has very heavy rainfall (more than 1 600 mm a year).
Whilst savannah, bocage and meadows cover the plateau. the forest-tunnels can be observed along the rivers and the Noun in particular. Crater lakes, waterfalls and rocks are the places of worship and the setting for disturbing legends.
In the past, the region was full of game and the founder of Bandjoun was a great elephant hunter.

The river Noun    

The men

The kingdom of Bandjoun ( gung a djo), capital of art and the main cultural centre of the Bamiléké plateau, has more than 150,000 inhabitants (including the diaspora) in a surface area of 264 km². It is one of the few hundred territorial and political independent monarchies, of varying sizes, that were progressively formed over some six centuries in the region of the volcanic plateaux of the western part of Cameroon called Grassland (or Grassfield).  
   

Ceremony in Bandjoun


 

The Bandjoun language is ghomala' which belongs to central Bamiléké central, a subdivision of the Eastern Grassfield, one of the Bantu languages of western Cameroon. The contemporary languages are on fact only the result of a long local diversification, resulting in thousands of years, in a single basic language, dating back at least 5,000 years, of an autochthonous population, the proto-Bantu.

A group of women go down to the royal residence

   

     
   
     

Statue trône royal anthropomorphe perlé

[ Top page ]

Home The four museums The project Baham museum Bandjoun museum Mankon museum Babungo museum
bandjoun@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by SYNUS

Musée de Bandjoun
Exposition permanente
Le pays et les hommes
Mythes, légendes et histoire
Royaume et société
Sociétés secrètes et religions
Création
Bandjoun hier, aujourd’hui et demain
Itinéraires de la memoire collective
Informations

Le pays et les hommes

Le pays

Bandjoun est localisé dans la province de l'Ouest-Cameroun et couvre plus de 3/4 du département du Koung-khi. Il occupe deux secteurs différents. Le premier est une zone basse (900 à 1100m d'altitude), peu vaste et presque vide, longeant sur près de 28 km le fleuve Noun. On y pratique à la fois les cultures et la chasse. Le deuxième secteur le plus vaste est le haut plateau (1500m d'altitude) dominant de 300 à 500 m de dénivellement la vallée du Noun. Il est modelé en collines aux sommets arrondis entre lesquelles les cours d'eau ont creusé un réseau de vallées, souvent à fond marécageux, où prolifèrent les palmiers-raphia, si utiles à la construction, l'alimentation et la fabrication d'objets.  
    Un paysage de Bandjoun

  Le climat est tropical à deux saisons (l'une pluvieuse, l'autre sèche).
Il est remarquable par sa fraîcheur et sa salubrité (sauf dans la vallée du Noun).
Les précipitations sont importantes (plus de 1 600 mm de pluies par an).
Alors que savanes, bocages et prairies occupent le plateau, les forêts galeries s'observent le long des rivières et du fleuve Noun. Lacs de cratère, chutes et rochers sont des lieux de culte et le cadre de légendes inquiétantes.
La région fut autrefois très giboyeuse et le fondateur de Bandjoun était lui-même un grand chasseur d'éléphants.
Le fleuve Noun    

Les hommes

Le royaume de Bandjoun (gung a djo), capitale de l'art et principal centre culturel du plateau bamiléké, compte plus de 150 000 habitants (y compris la diaspora) pour une superficie de 264 km². C'est l'une des quelques centaines d'unités territoriales et politiques de nature monarchique, indépendante, de tailles variables, qui se sont progressivement formées depuis environ six siècles dans la région des hauts plateaux volcaniques de la partie occidentale du Cameroun et dénommée Grassland (ou Grassfield).  
    Cérémonie à Bandjoun

  La langue des Bandjoun est le ghomala' qui appartient au Bamiléké central, une subdivision du Grassfield de l'Est, une des langues bantu du Cameroun occidental. Les langues contemporaines ne sont en fait que le résultat d'une longue diversification sur place, se chiffrant en millénaires, d'une langue unique de base, datant d'au moins 5 000 ans, d'une population d'autochtones, les proto-bantus.
Un groupe de femme descend vers la résidence royale    

     
   
     

Tête d’hippopotame

[ Page supérieure ]

Home Les quatre musées Le projet Musée de Baham Musée de Bandjoun Musée de Mankon Musée de Babungo
bandjoun@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by SYNUS