The Bandjoun museum
Permanent exhibition
The land and the men
Myths, legends and history
Kingdom and society
Secret societies and religions
Creation
Bandjoun yesterday, today and tomorrow
Itineraries of the collective memory
Information

Artistic creation

Containers

 

In Bandjoun, there exists a wide variety of containers (mainly receptacles, pipes and bags), each for a specific purpose and used both for cooking and for ritual or ceremonial purposes. The receptacles are impressive by their variety of production, styles and the freedom of expression which is shown in the detail of the cut, the decoration, the weaving or the moulding. The seats belonging to the fo and the notables, or which are used in major ceremonies, have been meticulously crafted. They are decorated with geometrical or figurative patterns which are often exuberant.


The most characteristic productions are the clay and wooden receptacles, the basketwork, the pipes, bags and above all the calabashes.
These are the best Bandjoun productions in the field. In general the calabash has a spherical form which in its upper part is prolonged by a cylindrical end.
The neck may sometimes be closed by a sculpted top with an anthropomorphic or zoomorphic design.

The calabash rests on a sculpted support. The set is covered with a fabric on which the artist has skilfully fixed cowries or beads harmoniously creating a pattern. These objects are exhibited during ceremonies, but above all rituals and funerals. There are other varieties of calabashes such as trophy calabashes for wine.

 

     
     
     
   
     

Calebasse perlée (ntù)

Architecture

In Bandjoun, the display of wealth and social status through architecture is mandatory.

Here builders have built with an ingeniousness and remarkable skill all sorts of buildings the forms of which vary according to their use, the social rank of the individual or collective owner and the nature of the decoration.

At the level of the structure, the traditional house (represented by the royal temple-palace chengbundye) includes four walls forming a sort of parallelepiped with a square base and surmounted by a ceiling with a conical (or pyramidal) thatched straw roof. Walls, structures, and ceilings are prefabricated on the ground before being raised and assembled according to an original technique dating back to before the foundation of Bandjoun.
 
    The royal temple-palace of Bandjoun

 

Since the first half of the 20 th century, there has been an evolution in autochthonous architecture. The traditional houses have gradually been replaced by modern houses (sometimes built of concrete) or buildings that combined modern and traditional elements.

The very close relationship between sculpture and architecture is perfectly illustrated by the sculpted pillars and the decorated doorframes bom’dye that adorn the royal buildings, the houses of the major notables and the secret societies.

They can be engraved, sculpted in bas-relief or in haut-relief and in certain cases have openwork of varying degrees.
The nature of the decoration and the number of the pillars and doors making up a building depend on the social role of the individual or group owning the premises.

Door frame and sculpted pillar    

Special importance is given to three categories of buildings amongst those with a symbolic or cultural interest:

the large royal house chengbundyeh, a sacred palace-temple, is the most important, the most respected and the most venerated of the buildings of the kingdom.

the house of the notable cheng is in the same style as the large royal house, but with more modest dimensions and decorations.

The number and the nature of the decorations of the doors and pillars depend on the rank of the notable who is the owner. Today, there are concrete examples that have multiple pyramidal roofs.

the nto, small hut, generally door less, negligible from the aesthetic point of view, is nevertheless the sacred construction par excellence, the home of all the mystical powers and magic forces of the kingdom.

 
    Cheng

     
     
     
   
     

Lintel of a sculpted door frame (te ken dy dye or nensi tentse bomdye)

Statues and furniture

 

Apart from some zoomorphic figures, the statues and statuettes are anthropomorphic. They are generally dynamic, vigorous and expressive. In Bandjoun, the isolated figures or in the round are less plentiful than those in relief compared with the other Grassland kingdoms.

The sculpted beds and seats are exclusively reserved for the fo and the important figures around him. The common seat is made either from stems of raffia palm or of wood. The royal or noble seats are mainly ceremonial thrones with large backs and portable stools which can be associated with the royal tables.

Each category can include several types according to the forms and decorations, which depend on the degree and place in the community of the owner(s). The stools and the thrones of the monarch must be counted amongst the most important symbols of Bandjoun royalty. It is amongst the beaded examples, remarkable for this extraordinary wealth and quality of ornamentation, that some of the works of art of the Grassland are to be found. Certain pieces represent the expression of the sovereignty and of the king himself. The seats have multiple cultural and ceremonial functions in the Bandjoun community.

     
     
 
     

Beaded throne (kuo fo)

Musical instruments

 

Different wooden, metal and ivory musical instruments are used in leisure or in various activities of community life in Bandjoun. A good number of them, belonging to the fo, notables and secret societies, play a liturgical role or give rhythm to songs and dances with processions. Some of these objects (drums, bells etc.) with a sacred nature have been sanctified by sacrificed and magical practices.

In this case, it is sometimes prohibited and dangerous to look at them, especially when they emit sound. Amongst these many musical instruments, the most important in the social and religious life of Bandjoun are the double bells, the flutes, the drums, sometimes richly decorated, the xylophones, the sanzas, the rattles, string instruments and horns.

The Bandjoun use both slit drums and membrane drums.
The slit drums are either modest in dimension used to communicate or animate dancing, or the large drums lam, which are beaten with the hand, of an impressive dimension (they can be up to 5 m) and with figurative patterns at the ends and sometimes on their shaft.

The drum is an object for the cult of great importance. It convenes the meeting of the mkem, the sound and decorations evoking the indications differentiating these associations. A few dozen are used at the royal residence and in the sub-chefferies.

 
    Drum lam of the secret society kom kwosi

The membrane drums, often decorated with anthropomorphic and zoomorphic patterns, can be divided into two groups: the examples with a long shaft and no base, said to be male, and the examples with a squatter shaft, said to be female, nkak.


Players of double bells and drum of the nyeleng society around 1925

The double bell kwifo, made from two tall wrought iron bells joined by a metal handle often embellished with ties, is the most sacred instrument in the Grassland. Each kingdom, like Bandjoun, has a set of five or seven, of different sounds, emitting a rhythm announcing the group or a sort of beaten language.

     
     
     
   
     

Rattles (A1…A3 ) ( mtchoua’a)

Daily life

 

Countless educational principles guide the Bandjoun from childhood to maturity and to death.

Some objects characterising the life cycle (birth, maturity and death) are used in everyday life and/or in different rituals: cooking utensils, adornments, costumes, fabrics, ceremonial objects etc.

As life has changed over time, the plastic productions used have undergone changes. This is why some utensils have disappeared or are becoming extinct.

     
     
   
     

Mortar (cup po’o)

[ Top page ]

Home The four museums The project Baham museum Bandjoun museum Mankon museum Babungo museum
bandjoun@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by SYNUS

Musée de Bandjoun
Exposition permanente
Le pays et les hommes
Mythes, légendes et histoire
Royaume et société
Sociétés secrètes et religions
Création
Bandjoun hier, aujourd’hui et demain
Itinéraires de la memoire collective
Informations

Création artistique

Les contenants

  A Bandjoun, il existe une grande variété de contenants (principalement les récipients, les pipes et les sacs), chacun doté d'un emploi spécifique et utilisé tant pour la cuisine que comme matériel rituel ou d'apparat. Ce qui frappe dans les contenants c'est la variété des factures, des styles, la liberté d'expression qui transparaît dans le détail de la taille, de l'ornementation, du tissage ou du modelage.
Les sièges appartenant au fo et notables, ou encore intervenant à d'importantes cérémonies, ont été méticuleusement façonnés. Ils sont ornés de motifs géométriques ou figuratifs souvent exubérants.

Les productions les plus caractéristiques sont les récipients en terre cuite, les récipients en bois, les objets de vannerie, les pipes, les sacs et surtout les calebasses.
Ces dernières constituent les meilleures réalisations bandjoun dans le domaine. La calebasse en général a la forme d'une sphère qui dans sa partie supérieure est prolongée par un bout cylindrique.
Le col peut être parfois fermé par un bouchon sculpté représentant un motif anthropomorphe ou zoomorphe.

La calebasse repose sur un support sculpté. L'ensemble est recouvert d'un tissu sur lequel l'artiste a habilement fixé des cauris ou des perles dessinant avec harmonie des motifs. On exhibe ses objets lors des cérémonies d'apparat, mais surtout rituelles et funéraires. Signalons qu'il existe d'autres variétés de calebasses comme les calebasses trophées à vin.

 

     
     
     
   
     

Vase à poison (kè mtchop)

Architecture

A Bandjoun, l'étalage de la richesse et du statut social par l'architecture s'impose.

Ici, les bâtisseurs ont construit avec une ingéniosité et une habileté remarquables plusieurs sortes d'édifices dont les formes varient selon leur utilisation, le rang social du propriétaire individuel ou collectif, la nature de la décoration.

Au niveau de la structure, la maison traditionnelle type (représentée par le palais-temple royal chengbundye) comprend quatre murs formant une sorte de parallélépipède à base carrée et surmonté d'un plafond coiffé d'un toit conique (ou pyramidal) recouvert de paille.

Murs, charpentes, plafonds ont été préfabriqués au sol avant d'être mis en place et réunis selon une technique originale antérieure à la fondation de Bandjoun.

 
    Le temple-palais royal de Bandjoun

 

Depuis la première moitié du XXe siècle, on note une évolution de l'architecture autochtone. Ainsi, les maisons traditionnelles ont progressivement cédé la place à des maisons “modernes” (parfois en béton) ou à des édifices alliant éléments modernes et éléments traditionnels.

Le rapport très étroit entre la sculpture et l'architecture est parfaitement illustré par les piliers sculptés et les cadres des portes ouvragés bom’dye qui ornent les édifices royaux, les maisons des grands notables et des sociétés secrètes.

Ils sont indifféremment gravés, sculptés en bas-relief, en haut-relief et montrent dans certains cas un découpage plus ou moins ajouré.
La nature du décor et le nombre des piliers et des portes qui composent un édifice dépendent du rôle social de l'individu ou du groupe propriétaire des lieux.

Cadre de porte et pilier sculpté    

Une importance particulière est attachée à trois catégories de constructions parmi celles qui revêtent un intérêt symbolique ou culturel:

la grande maison royale chengbundyeh, un palais-temple sacré, est la plus importante, la plus respectée et la plus vénérée des bâtiments du royaume.

la maison du notable cheng est du même style que la grande maison royale, mais avec toutefois des dimensions et des décors plus modestes.

Le nombre et la nature des décorations des portes et des piliers dépendent du grade du notable propriétaire. Il existe de nos jours des spécimens en béton exhibant de multiples toits pyramidaux.

le nto, petite case, généralement sans porte, négligeable sur le plan esthétique, est cependant la construction sacrée par excellence, séjour de tous les pouvoirs mystiques et des forces magiques du royaume.

 
    Cheng

     
     
     
   
     

Maquette de case à cinq toits en forme de pyramide (cheng)

Statues et mobilier

 

A part quelques figures zoomorphes, les statues et statuettes sont anthropomorphes. Elles sont dans l'ensemble dynamiques, vigoureuses et expressives. A Bandjoun, les figures isolées ou rondes bosses sont moins abondantes que les reliefs par rapport à d'autres royaumes du Grassland.

Les lits et les sièges sculptés sont exclusivement réservés au fo et aux personnages importants qui l'entourent. Le siège courant est exécuté soit en tiges de palmier raphia, soit en bois. Parmi les sièges royaux ou nobles figurent principalement les trônes d'apparat à dossier de grande dimension et des tabourets portatifs auxquels on peut associer les tables royales.

Chaque catégorie peut comprendre plusieurs types en fonction des formes et des décors, qui dépendent du grade et de la place dans la communauté du (ou des) propriétaire(s). Les tabourets et les trônes du monarque doivent être comptés parmi les plus importants symboles de la royauté bandjoun. C'est parmi les spécimens perlés, remarquables par cette extraordinaire richesse et cette qualité de l'ornementation, qu'on retrouve quelques chefs-d'œuvre de l'art du Grassland. Certaines pièces constituent l’expression de la souveraineté et du roi même. Les sièges ont de multiples fonctions culturelles et cérémonielles dans la communauté bandjoun.

     
     
 
     

Trône perlé (kuo fo)

Instruments de musique

 

Différents instruments de musique en bois, en métal, en ivoire sont employés dans le cadre des loisirs ou de diverses activités de la vie communautaire à Bandjoun. Un bon nombre d'entre eux, appartenant au fo, aux notables et aux sociétés secrètes, joue un rôle liturgique accompagnant ou rythmant les chants et les danses avec processions. Certains de ces objets (tambours, cloches, etc.) revêtant un caractère sacré ont été sanctifiés par des sacrifices et des pratiques magiques.

Dans ce cas, les regarder est parfois interdit et dangereux, surtout au moment où ils émettent des sons. Parmi ces nombreux instruments de musique, les plus importants dans la vie sociale et religieuse de Bandjoun sont les doubles cloches, les flûtes, les tambours, parfois richement décorés, les xylophones, les sanza, les hochets, des instruments à corde et les trompes.

Les Bandjoun utilisent d'un côté les tambours à fente et de l'autre les tambours à membrane.
Les tambours à fente sont soit des tambours de dimensions modestes intervenant pour communiquer ou animer la danse, soit les grands tambours lam que l'on bat à l'aide de la main, aux dimensions impressionnantes (ils peuvent atteindre 5 m) et portant des motifs figuratifs aux extrémités et parfois sur le fût.
Le tambour est un objet cultuel de grande importance. Il sert d'appel à la réunion des mkem, le son et les décors évoquant les indicatifs différenciant ces associations. Quelques dizaines sont en fonction à la résidence royale et dans les sous-chefferies.

 
    Tambour lam de la société secrète kom kwosi

Les tambours à membrane souvent décorés de motifs anthropomorphes et zoomorphes se subdivisent en deux groupes: les spécimens avec fût élancé sans piétement, de sexe dit mâle, les ntem, et les spécimens au fût plus trapu, dit de sexe femelle, nkak.


Joueurs de double cloche et de tambour de la société nyeleng vers 1925

La double cloche kwifo, formé de deux hautes cloches en fer forgé unies par une anse métallique souvent embellie par des liens, est l'instrument le plus sacré du Grassland. Chaque royaume comme Bandjoun en possède un jeu de 5 à 7, de tailles différentes, émettant tantôt un rythme annonciateur du groupe, tantôt une sorte de langage frappé.

     
     
     
   
     

Sanza (belack)

La vie quotidienne

 

De nombreux principes d'éducation guident le Bandjoun de son enfance à son âge mûr jusqu'à sa mort.

Quelques objets caractérisant le cycle de la vie (naissance, maturité, mort) sont utilisés dans la vie de tous les jours et/ou dans divers rituels: ustensiles de cuisine, parures, costumes, étoffes, objets cérémoniels, etc.

Le cadre de la vie ayant évolué au cours de l'histoire, les productions plastiques employées ont connu des changements. C'est pourquoi quelques-unes ont disparu ou sont en voie de l'être.

     
     
   
     

Corsage en écorce d’arbre (gà) séchée

[ Page supérieure ]

Home Les quatre musées Le projet Musée de Baham Musée de Bandjoun Musée de Mankon Musée de Babungo
bandjoun@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by SYNUS