The Baham museum
Permanent exhibition
Country and history
Secret societies and religion
Costumes and textile art
Musical instruments
Receptacles and other containers
Kings and dignitaries
The artists
The figures of justice
Maternity, fertility and war
Architecture
Itineraries of the collective memory
Information

Musical instruments

In the kingdom of Baham, different musical instruments are used in leisure and in the different activities of social life. They can be made from iron, ivory or wood, associated with other materials or not, such as animal skins. They are often decorated. The range of decorations goes from the simple geometric figure to anthropomorphic and zoomorphic sculptures.

Grands tambours cérémoniels à membrane

Some of these instruments can only be used by men, others only by women. They can be classified into several groups: idiophones (drums with slits. rattles, bells, sanzas); membranophones (drums with a single hide, the rare drums with 2 hides); string instruments (less frequent); wind instruments (horns, flutes). The most important of these in social and religious life are: bells, horns, flutes, xylophones, drums, rattles and sanzas.

A good number of musical instruments belonging to the king, notables and secret societies play a liturgical role accompanying or giving rhythm to sons, dances and processions. Some of these objects (drums, bells etc.) with a sacred character have been sanctified by sacrifices and magical practices. In this case, it is at times prohibited and dangerous to look at them, especially when they emit sounds.

     
     
     
 
     

Rattles (shwa’)

[ Top page ]

Home The four museums The project Baham museum Bandjoun museum Mankon museum Babungo museum
baham@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by SYNUS

Le musée de Baham
Exposition permanente
Pays et histoire
Sociétés secrètes et religion
Costumes et art textile
Instruments de musique
Récipients et autres contenants
Rois et dignitaires
Les artistes
Les figures de justice
Maternité, fécondité et guerre
Architecture
Itinéraires de la memoire collective
Informations

Instruments de musique

Dans le royaume de Baham, divers instruments de musique sont utilisés dans le cadre des loisirs et des différentes activités de la vie sociale. Ils peuvent être en fer, en ivoire ou en bois, associés ou non à d’autres matériaux comme la peau de bête. Ils sont souvent ornés. La gamme des ornements va de la simple figure géométrique aux sculptures anthropomorphes et zoomorphes.

Grands tambours cérémoniels à membrane

Certains de ces instruments ne doivent être utilisés que par les hommes, d’autres uniquement par les femmes. On peut les classer en plusieurs groupes: les idéophones (tambours à fente, crécelles et hochets, cloches, sanza); les membranophones (tambours à peau unique, tambours à 2 peaux plus rares); les cordophones (moins répandus); les aérophones (trompes, flûtes). Parmi eux, les plus importants dans la vie sociale et religieuse sont: les cloches, les trompes, les flûtes, les xylophones, les tambours, les hochets, les sanza.

Un bon nombre d’instruments de musique appartenant au roi, aux notables et aux sociétés secrètes jouent un rôle liturgique accompagnant ou rythmant les chants, danses et processions. Certains de ces objets (tambours, cloches, etc.) revêtant un caractère sacré ont été sanctifiés par des sacrifices et des pratiques magiques. Dans ce cas, les regarder est parfois interdit et dangereux, surtout au moment où ils émettent des sons.

     
     
     
 
     

Oliphant en ivoire avec armature en laiton ( louop)

[ Page supérieure ]

Home Les quatre musées Le projet Musée de Baham Musée de Bandjoun Musée de Mankon Musée de Babungo
baham@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by SYNUS