The Baham museum
Permanent exhibition
Country and history
Secret societies and religion
Costumes and textile art
Musical instruments
Receptacles and other containers
Kings and dignitaries
The artists
The figures of justice
Maternity, fertility and war
Architecture
Itineraries of the collective memory
Information

Maternity, fertility and war

Fertility, gestation and procreation are amongst the most obsessive subjects in various societies of the Grassland and in particular in Baham. This is reflected in art by the very frequent representation of women who are pregnant or carrying one or two children. The figures of fathers also carrying children are not uncommon. The image of the mother evokes and materialises, in the dynamic sense, the continuity that vibrates and marks the aim of life in Baham. Moreover, the theme of the mother with child is fairly common in African artistic production and is based on traditions dating back to prehistory. The figures of maternity from Baham appear in various forms: statues in the round, furniture, architectonic elements, musical instruments etc. Sub-themes linked to twins, fertility and birth are also to be found.


Museum of Baham . Maternity, fertility, war

Twins and their parents have played an important role in the social life and history of Baham and different kingdoms of the Grassland. Their figures appear in different artistic representations. Twins have founded several kingdoms or have been powerful kings. Twins and their parents are venerated in Baham and they are attributed with exceptional powers (healing, divination, clairvoyance). The rites and cults relative to twins are still very much alive.

The plastic themes of war and the warrior are very common in the arts of Baham. The warrior, whether he is a king, retainer, notable guardian-protector or a mythical being, appears in numerous forms. He can appear in the form of a figure holding a machete, a trophy head or a rifle. He can also wear a uniform: this is the case of certain works dating from the German colonial period. The king is considered a fighter who is always victorious and the artists exalt at times and exaggeratedly the warring miracles of the Baham people. The houses of the feu and of the major warriors were often decorated with the skulls of defeated enemies. The representations of warrior scenes commemorating military victories appear in doorposts, musical instruments and drums.

     
     
     

Statue of a standing warrior

[ Top page ]

Home The four museums The project Baham museum Bandjoun museum Mankon museum Babungo museum
baham@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by SYNUS

Le musée de Baham
Exposition permanente
Pays et histoire
Sociétés secrètes et religion
Costumes et art textile
Instruments de musique
Récipients et autres contenants
Rois et dignitaires
Les artistes
Les figures de justice
Maternité, fécondité et guerre
Architecture
Itinéraires de la memoire collective
Informations

Maternité, fécondité et guerre

La fécondité, la vie gestative, la procréation, sont parmi les sujets les plus obsédants dans diverses sociétés du Grassland et en particulier à Baham. Ceci se reflète dans l’art par la très fréquente représentation des femmes enceintes ou portant un enfant ou deux. Les figures de pères portant également des enfants ne sont pas rares. L’image de la mère évoque et matérialise le sens de la dynamique, de la continuité qui vibre et marque le but de la vie à Baham. D’ailleurs le thème de la mère à l’enfant est assez courant dans les productions artistiques africaines et il s’appuie sur des traditions remontant à la préhistoire. Les figures de maternité Baham apparaissent dans divers supports: statues en ronde bosse, mobilier, éléments architecturaux, instruments de musique, etc. On y retrouve les sous- thèmes liés à la gémellité, la fécondité, la naissance.


Musée de Baham. Maternité, fécondité, guerre

Les jumeaux et leurs parents ont joué un rôle important dans la vie sociale et l’histoire de Baham et des différents royaumes du Grassland. Leurs figures apparaissent dans diverses représentations artistiques. Des jumeaux ont fondé plusieurs royaumes ou ont été des puissants rois. Les jumeaux et leurs parents sont vénérés à Baham, on leur accorde des pouvoirs exceptionnels (guérison, divination, voyance). Les rites et les cultes relatifs aux jumeaux sont encore très vivants.

Les thèmes plastiques de la guerre et du guerrier sont très courants dans les arts de Baham. Le guerrier qu’il soit roi, serviteur, notable, gardien – protecteur ou un être mythique, figure au travers de nombreux supports. Il apparaît sous la forme d’un personnage tenant un coupe-coupe, une tête trophée ou un fusil. Il peut arborer également un uniforme: c’est le cas de certaines œuvres datant de l’époque coloniale allemande. Le roi est considéré comme un combattant toujours victorieux et les artistes exaltent parfois avec exagération les prouesses guerrières des Baham. Les maisons du feu, des grands guerriers, étaient souvent décorées des crânes d’ennemis vaincus. Les représentations des scènes guerrières commémorant des victoires militaires apparaissent dans des chambranles, des instruments de musique, des tambours.

     
     
     

Statue d’un homme et son enfant

[ Page supérieure ]

Home Les quatre musées Le projet Musée de Baham Musée de Bandjoun Musée de Mankon Musée de Babungo
baham@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by SYNUS