The Baham museum
Permanent exhibition
Country and history
Secret societies and religion
Costumes and textile art
Musical instruments
Receptacles and other containers
Kings and dignitaries
The artists
The figures of justice
Maternity, fertility and war
Architecture
Itineraries of the collective memory
Information

The artists

The objects of the artistic heritage of Baham have been made with great aesthetic research and a command of materials by artists who are often known and highly respected in the kingdom (sometimes also from afar), working in different artistic ways: sculpture, architecture, painting, pottery, basketwork, embroidery, body art (tattooing, scarification), metal art, etc. The regional renown of Baham in the field of architecture, wooden sculpture, bead embroidery and decoration of fabrics comes from the quality of the works of great masters such as Kouam meukam Tabiegang, talom Biegaing, Kouam mafeu Tchuendem (in sculpture) and Tawadje (tattooing, scarification) for example.

If more than 150 professional artists are still living and active in various fields (becoming more craftsmen than artists), others are deceased, including the great masters who has left us works of great value, some of which are in Baham whilst others are in museums and collections in the West.
 
   

The artist of Baham Kouam meukam Tabiegaing


 

The artist gaing ve is a person who has talent, skill and creative genius. A guardian of traditions, he is also to the fore in innovation. He has received a solid training and long apprenticeship (followed sometimes by initiation for the production of certain objects). Artists are covered with honours and wealth, according to their work, by the king, the notables and the secret societies.

Making a raffia panel

   

Those who make objects for worship are amongst the dignitaries of the kingdom. But some artists of a more modest situation lead difficult lives; others were even kept in secret during their work and sold as slaves by their masters.

If we obtained information on many of these specialists, producers of art objects of Baham from various sources, it must be noted that the identity of many others is totally unknown and may always be so.

 
   

Decoration of fabric ndop or douop

     
     
 
     

Statue of a snake

[ Top page ]

Home The four museums The project Baham museum Bandjoun museum Mankon museum Babungo museum
baham@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by SYNUS

Le musée de Baham
Exposition permanente
Pays et histoire
Sociétés secrètes et religion
Costumes et art textile
Instruments de musique
Récipients et autres contenants
Rois et dignitaires
Les artistes
Les figures de justice
Maternité, fécondité et guerre
Architecture
Itinéraires de la memoire collective
Informations

Les artistes

Les objets du patrimoine artistique de Baham ont été façonnés avec une recherche esthétique poussée et une maîtrise des matériaux, par des artistes connus et souvent très respectés dans le royaume (parfois même au loin), intervenant dans diverses formes artistiques : sculpture, architecture, peinture, poterie, vannerie, broderie, arts du corps (tatouage, scarification), art du métal, etc. La renommée régionale de Baham dans le domaine de l’architecture, de la sculpture sur bois, de la broderie de perles, de la décoration des étoffes, provient de la qualité des réalisations des grands maîtres comme Kouam meukam Tabiegang, talom Biegaing, Kouam mafeu Tchuendem (en sculpture), Tawadje (tatouage, scarification) par exemple.

Si plus de 150 artistes professionnels sont encore en vie s’adonnant à diverses activités (devenant même plus artisanales qu’artistiques), d’autres sont morts, parmi lesquels des grands maîtres qui nous ont laissé des œuvres de grande valeur dont certaines sont conservées à Baham alors que d’autres se retrouvent dans des musées et des collections en Occident.

 
   

L’artiste baham Kouam meukam Tabiegaing


  L’artiste gaing ve est un personnage qui a du talent, de l’adresse, du génie créateur. Gardien des traditions, il est aussi à l’avant-garde des innovations. Il a reçu une solide formation et un long entraînement (suivi parfois d’une initiation pour la fabrication de certains objets). Les artistes sont couverts d’honneurs et de richesses, selon leurs réalisations, par le roi, les notables et les sociétés secrètes.

Fabrication d’un panneau en raphia

   

Ceux qui façonnent les objets cultuels comptent parmi les dignitaires du royaume. Mais certains artistes de condition modeste mènent une vie difficile; d’autres furent même gardés au secret pendant leur travail et parfois vendus comme esclaves par leurs patrons.

Si les informations relatives à bon nombre de ces spécialistes, réalisateurs d’objets d’art de Baham, nous ont été fournies par diverses sources, il est à noter que l’identité de beaucoup d’autres nous est totalement inconnue et pourra même l’être à jamais.

 
   

Décoration du tissu ndop ou douop

     
     
 
     

Statue de serpent

[ Page supérieure ]

Home Les quatre musées Le projet Musée de Baham Musée de Bandjoun Musée de Mankon Musée de Babungo
baham@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by SYNUS