Babungo museum
Permanent exhibition
The Kingdom, myth, legend and history
Society and religion
Arts and technics
Artist and craftmen
Babungo, itineraries of collective memory.
Informations

Society and Religion

Society

The kingdom is divided into quarters, each made up (depending on its extension) of one or more lineages including several compounds (hamlets or households). Each hamlet corresponding to a family has at its head a chief, the tiifu, who is responsible for the peace, prosperity and religious rites for the well being of his family.

Over the chiefs of the hamlets, there is the tiintih, the head of the quarter appointed by the king whom he represents in the district under his administration. His function is also hereditary.

The king, some quarters heads appointed by him and some powerful common titled notables (the veshi / sing shi ) make up the councils of « five » and « seven » notables, themselves chiefs of lineages that form the theocratic government of the kingdom. The founders of these lineages often participated in the foundation of Babungo.Thus Bah, first assistant of the fon and chief of the council of the « five » (headquarters of the ngumba) was the successor of the ancestor of the same name. This brother of Saingi I who took part in the foundation of the kingdom.

 
    Bah, the King’s assistant

  Fuanje, chief of the council of the « 7 » and spokesman of the ngumba, represents another brother of Saingi I and co-founder of Babungo. The number of members of these assemblies has increased over the centuries, especially as « five » and « seven » are symbolic figures with deeper meanings. The general assembly grouping together the members of the councils of the « five » and of the « seven », the king, the group of titled servants veshi sitting at the large house of the tifuan(tifoa, ngumba or kwifo) forms the central elements of this institution, the counter power of the king and symbol of Babungo and executive body of the decisions of the government. The tifuan comprises several lodges, « houses » or autonomous societies each with its speciality and possessing specific cultural objects. If the princes are excluded from the tifuan, the common servants play a fundamental role in it.
Two wifes of King Saingi II in 2000    

Apart from the tifuan, there exists a diversity of customary societies in Babungo and which can be classified according to their functions (political, military such as the samba or njong, religious, etc.) their meeting places, social stratification (societies of princes such as the nintai), gender (societies of women such as the fembwei, etc.).

Babungo society is highly stratified, with the fon occupying the summit. Then come the notables (local or of the palace) with titles, which are also hierarchic, and lastly the simple inhabitants.

 
    The tifuan society, guu in action

Common notables also have to be distinguished from those of royal blood, including the nchio, the queen mother who plays an important role in the country. Various elements of material culture are used as emblems or symbols indicating the social rank of each, legitimising the power and authority of the king, of the notables, of the customary societies and of the different social categories.

Religion

Despite the current spread of Islam and Christianity in Babungo, the majority of the inhabitants remain attached to the autochthonous religion that plays a fundamental role in community life, intervening in the production and use of certain objects of cult.

Many Islamised and Christianised Babungo occasionally practise the religion of their ancestors. The Babungo believe in the Supreme Being Moh-Mbi or Nwi, the creator of the world, but that can only be reached with sacrifices and prayers through the intermediary of ancestors or divinities (spirits).

These live at the foot of a tree, in a waterfall, lake, river, rock, sculpture or a sacred place, etc.. There are specific divinities and sanctuaries for the family, the lineage, the quarter and the kingdom. The first and most important of the gods is Ngesekwa who lives in a waterfall at Forghai.Appropriate specialists at family and local level as well as at the level of the kingdom, venerate these divinities and perform various rituals for the collective well-being.

 
    Ceremony in the sacred place, Ntoh Yindoh

  The Babungo believe and fear the actions of the dead, in particular of the ancestors on the living. It is the cult of the ancestors that is at the basis of the autochthonous religion.
There is a proliferation of other beliefs of the Babungo dealing with divining, cursing, increasing power and the appropriation of certain qualities of man through an alliance with animals, plants, the forces of nature, witchcraft and magic. All these beliefs give rise to rites using specific material, recipients, headdresses, costumes, musical instruments, painted, woven or sculpted figures.
Death celebration of a prince    


Funeral ceremony, mourning the lost of king Zofoa II

All these symbols and all these beliefs are materialised and take on rhythm through the plastic arts, music and dance. Certain objects, home to redoubtable forces cannot be exhibited or handled without special precautions being taken.

     
     
     

Enthronement cap (fatoh - yikwe)

     
     
 
     

Wooden camwood container (yoh-bui)

[ Top page ]

Home The four museums The project Baham museum Bandjoun museum Mankon museum Babungo museum
babungo@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by SYNUS

Musée de Babungo
Exposition permanente
Le Royaume, mythe, légende et histoire
Société et religion
Arts et techniques
Artistes et artisans
Babungo, itinéraires de la mémoire collective
Informations

Société et Religion

Société

Le royaume est divisé en quartiers, chacun composé (selon sa grandeur) d’un ou de plusieurs lignage s, y compris plusieurs enclos (hameaux ou autres ménages). Chaque hameau, qui correspond à une famille, a un chef qui est responsable de la paix, de la prospérité et des rites religieux ainsi que du bien-être de sa famille.

Les chefs des hameaux sont sous l’autorité du tiintih, le chef du quartier nommé par le roi qu’il représente dans la région sous son administration. Sa fonction est également héréditaire.

Le roi, certains chefs de quartier qu’il a nommés et quelques notables roturiers puissants (les veshi/sing shi ) forment les conseils des “cinq” et des “sept” notables, également chefs de lignage s, qui composent le gouvernement théocratique du royaume. Les fondateurs de ces lignages ont souvent participé à la fondation de Babungo. Donc Bah, le premier adjoint du fon et le chef du conseil des “cinq ” (le quartier-général du ngumba) était le successeur de l’ancêtre du même nom, ce frère de Saingi I qui participa à la fondation du royaume.
 
    Bah, l’adjoint du Roi

 

Fuanje , le chef du conseil des «sept» et porte-parole du ngumba , est un autre frère de Saingi I et co-fondateur de Babungo. Le nombre des membres de ces assemblées a augmenté au cours des siècles, surtout parce que «cinq » et «sept» sont des chiffres symboliques avec des sens plus profonds. L’assemblée générale qui regroupe les membres des conseils des «cinq» et des «sept», le roi, le groupe de serviteurs anoblis veshi assis à la grande maison du tifuan (tifoa, ngumba ou kwifo) constituent les éléments centraux de cette institution, le contre-pouvoir du roi, le symbole de Babungo et l’organisme exécutif des décisions du gouvernement. Le tifuan comprend plusieurs loges, des «maisons» ou sociétés autonomes, chacune avec sa spécialité et avec des objets culturels spécifiques. Si les princes sont exclus du tifuan, les serviteurs roturiers y jouent un rôle fondamental.

Nah Younwi et Nah Fuzo, épouses du roi Saingi II, en 2000    

Outre le tifuan, il existe une diversité de sociétés coutumières à Babungo qui peuvent être cla ssées selon leurs fonctions (politique, militaire comme le s amba o u njong, religieuse, etc.), leurs lieux de réunion, leur stratification sociale (sociétés de princes, comme le nintai), de genre (sociétés de femmes comme le fembwei, etc.).

La société babungo est très stratifiée, avec le fon au sommet. Il est suivi par les notables (locaux ou du palais) avec des titres qui sont également hiérarchisés et, en dernier lieu, il y a les habitants ordinaires.

 
    La société tifuan, guu en action

Les notables roturiers doivent aussi se distinguer de ceux de sang royal, y compris la nchio, la reine-mère qui joue un rôle important dans le pays. Différents éléments de la culture matérielle sont utilisés en tant qu’emblèmes ou symboles pour indiquer le rang social de chacun, légitimant le pouvoir et l’autorité du roi, des notables, des sociétés coutumières et des différentes catégories sociales.

Religion

Malgré l’essor actuel de l’islam et du christianisme à Babungo, la plupart des habitants reste attachée à la religion autochtone qui joue un rôle fondamental dans la vie de la communauté, intervenant dans la production et dans l’emploi de certains objets cultuels.

Beaucoup de Babungo islamisés ou christianisés pratiquent de temps en temps la religion de leurs ancêtres. Les Babungo croient à l’Être Suprême Moh-Mbi ou Nwi, le créateur du monde, mais qui peut être atteint uniquement par l’intermédiaire des ancêtres ou des divinités (les esprits).

Ceux-ci vivent au pied d’un arbre, dans une chute d’eau, un lac, un fleuve, un rocher, une sculpture ou bien dans un lieu sacr é, etc. Il y a des divinités spécifiques et des sanctuaires pour la famille, pour le lignage, le quartier et le royaume. Le premier et le plus important des dieux est Ngesekwa qui habite une chute d’eau à Forghai. Des spécialistes au niveau familial et local ainsi qu’au niveau du royaume vénèrent ces divinités et exécutent les rituels pour le bien-être collectif.
 
    Cérémonie au lieu sacré, Ntoh Yindoh

 

Les Babungo craignent et croient aux actions des morts, en particulier des ancêtres sur les vivants. C’est le culte des ancêtres qui est à la base de la religion autochtone.
Il y a une abondance d’autres croyances des Babungo qui ont trait à la divination, aux malédictions, à l’augmentation des pouvoirs et à l’appropriation de certaines qualités de l’homme à travers une alliance avec les animaux, les plantes, les forces de la nature, la sorcellerie et la magie. Toutes ces croyances donnent lieu à des rites qui utilisent des objets spécifiques, des récipients, des coiffures, des costumes, des instruments de musique et des figures peintes, tissées ou sculptées.

La célébration de la mort d’un prince    


Une cérémonie de funérailles, le deuil pour la perte du roi Zofoa II

Tous ces symboles et toutes ces croyances se matérialisent à travers les arts plastiq ues, la musique et la danse. Certains objets, qui abritent des forces redoutables, ne peuvent pas être exposés ou touchés sans prendre des précautions spéciales.

     
     
     

Commemorative statue of the king’s assistant (Bah Ngow)

     
     
 
     

Commemorative statue throne of a queen (nah Yagisi)

[ Page supérieure ]

Home Les quatre musées Le projet Musée de Baham Musée de Bandjoun Musée de Mankon Musée de Babungo
babungo@museumcam.org Copyright 2005 C.O.E. Powered by SYNUS